@TheVarsity

The Varsity

The University of Toronto's
Student Newspaper Since 1880

Volunteer

Who really cares that your last philosophy paper was a brilliant insight on the human condition? Think about it. The only people to see your master works are you, your professor, and (if you’re lucky) a couple of your bored and retired relatives.

Now think about writing for a paper that distributes 20,000 copies across three campuses every week.

Writing for The Varsity is one of the cheapest thrills on campus. It means becoming an instant expert on all kinds of issues, being one of the most well-informed students on campus, and putting your perfectly-honed research skills to work informing the 70,000-odd members of the U of T community on everything from Hart House to human rights.

We have six sections, and they’re always looking for writers. In addition, we’re also constantly on the hunt for photographers, designers, and copy editors. See below for more information about each section section and the editor’s email address. Once you’ve figured out how you like to contribute, just get in touch with that specific editor. Feel free to email more than one editor.

Got a question? Email us at editor@thevarsity.ca.

 

Contributor’s Handbook

Cover

Writers and copy-editors should also refer to The Varsity‘s Style Guide.

 

Masthead contacts and office hours

 

News

editor Zane Schwartz (news@thevarsity.ca)
Office hoursMondays, 3:00-5:00pm

 

Comment

editor Alec Wilson (comment@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Mondays, 1:00-3:00pm

 

Features

editor Danielle Klein (features@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Wednesdays, 11:00am-1:00pm

 

Arts & Culture

editor Sofia Luu (arts@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Mondays, 11:00am-1:00pm

 

Science

editor Katrina Vogan (science@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Tuesdays, 1:00-3:00pm

 

Sports

editor Elizabeth Benn (sports@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Wednesdays, 12:00–2:00pm

 

Photo

editor Carolyn Levett (photo@thevarsity.ca)

 

Design

editors Shaquilla Singh (design@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Fridays, 2:00-4:00pm

Copy

editor Catherine Virelli (copy@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Fridays, 11:00am-1:00pm

 

Illustration

editor Nancy Ji  (illustration@thevarsity.ca)

 

Video

editor  Jamie Wang (video@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Mondays, 5:00-6:oopm

 

Production

editor Dan Seljak (production@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Wednesdays, 3:00-5:00pm

 

Online

editor Murad Hemmadi (online@thevarsity.ca)
Office hours: Tuesdays, 4:00-6:00pm