Working at The Varsity has been one of the most rewarding experiences available to U of T students since 1880. Whether you are based downtown at the St. George campus, in Mississauga, or Scarborough, working at the paper provides you with endless opportunities to practice and develop essential skills while being at the centre of one of the most interesting and diverse student communities in the country.

Whether you write, edit, illustrate, take photos, shoot video, design, or code, The Varsity is always looking for new voices and skills to tell the stories that matter to students. Send an editor an email, or drop by our offices on the second floor of 21 Sussex Ave. and come work with us, we promise it’s a lot of fun.


We also have a Facebook group where we post volunteer opportunities, section meetings, and important updates. Feel free to join to stay informed.

Answers to several frequently asked questions can be found on our FAQ page.

Visit our writing tips page if you are not familiar with how writing for newspapers differs from writing an essay. We have gathered a list of the most common mistakes and misconceptions. More extensive tips can be found in our Contributors’ Handbook.

Writers and copy-editors should also refer to The Varsity’s Style Guide.

Got a question? Email us at editor@thevarsity.ca.


Masthead contacts

News Editor

Tom Yun

news@thevarsity.ca

Comment Editor

Teodora Pasca

comment@thevarsity.ca

Features Editor

Rachel Chen

features@thevarsity.ca

Arts & Culture Editor

Reut Cohen

arts@thevarsity.ca

Science Editor


Shaan Bhambra

science@thevarsity.ca

Sports Editor

Sean Smith

sports@thevarsity.ca

Photo Editor


Nathan Chan

photo@thevarsity.ca

Design Editor

Vanessa Wang

design@thevarsity.ca

Senior Copy Editor

Ariel Gomes

copy@thevarsity.ca

Illustrations Editor


Elham Numan

illustration@thevarsity.ca

Video Editor

Shaq Hosein

video@thevarsity.ca

Managing Editor

Jaren Kerr (managing@thevarsity.ca)

Managing Online Editor

Jacob Lorinc (online@thevarsity.ca)

Creative Director

Mubashir Baweja (creative@thevarsity.ca)