科学家看上去应该是怎样的?

七位多大学生分享他们对于科学的热忱和自己的科研之路

科学家看上去应该是怎样的?

“在我还是个小女孩的时候,我曾见证过一颗流星划过天空,因此夜空成了我挚爱的景色。我幻想在天上会存在着些什么,要是能够进入太空,那该有多酷。由于此,我在本科的时候选择了学习物理学与天文学,从那时起我一直向前从未回头。

我现在试图了解早期宇宙,以及它是怎么演变成我们今天所看见的行星与星系的;具体地说,便是再电离纪元所发生的事情。再电离纪元指的是宇宙历史里物质在宇宙中再电离的时代。

(我父亲)教导我要努力争取,有志者事竟成。他教会了我永不言弃,永远对事物保持好奇。我对人生和事业的好奇心是继承自他。”

——玛格丽特·伊卡普(Margaret Ikape)

天文系及天体物理系一年级博士生 电邮

 

“我一直都对科学很有兴趣,但同时我也对艺术抱有相同的热情。我的初中以及高中都是艺术学校。我一天中的大部分时间都是在进行艺术创作而非学术研究。如今,我也利用大量的课余时间进行艺术探索。我仍旧认为自己是个艺术家,同时也是个科学家。我花了好一阵才明白我可以同时拥有这双重身份。

当我决定来大学继续深造的时候,我选择了攻读科学专业,因为我喜欢科学并且对此很擅长。进入本科高年级阶段,我发现自己很喜欢生态课程和实地课程;与此同时,我也很喜欢我在这些课上遇到的

我对道路上的污染物——例如路盐之类的——以及它们对于邻近溪流的动物的影响很感兴趣。除路盐之外,我也研究其他来自道路的污染物,比如金属,多环芳烃,和车胎碎屑(轮胎灰尘)。

——蕾切尔·贾尔斯(Rachel Giles)

生态学系及进化生物学系一年级研究生 电邮

 

最开始,我的志向是成为一名职业舞者兼兽医(这是一种很实际的双重职业选择)。科学虽然曾一度是我学业的重心,但直到我在完成我的科学学士学位几年后,我才意识到我有多热爱研究,以及利用科学方法解答有关动物行为与认知的问题。我是在身兼实验室管理员、兽医助手和犬类训练师三职的时候顿悟的。从这其中,我发现了研究工作是多么富有成就感以及激动人心。我可以预见自己的一生都将奉献在研究事业中。

我想要了解(犬类)是如何理解这个世界的,以及它们怎么分析周围环境对它们发出的指令和信息。我的研究动力,是希望有朝一日,我的研究或许可以帮助改变人们对犬类的看法,通过对于它们心智能力的了解而认可它们拥有着更多的价值,并最终为它们在北美争取到更好的对待和更多权力。

——茱莉亚·埃斯皮诺萨(Julia Espinosa)

认知科学系二年级博士生,电邮

 

“在同一个实验室里工作学习的博士生,茱莉亚·埃斯皮诺萨,对我的事业有着重大的影响。自从我们在2016年秋天开始合作以来,她一直对我抱有无限的耐心,并鼓励我激励自己,不要为创新而害怕。如果没有她给我的智慧的建议和持久的耐心,我无法走到今天这一步。

和许多学生一样,我在大学的第一年也经历了一段艰难的过渡期。适应远离家乡的的生活(我的家乡离多伦多有10个小时的车程)以及第一次独自生活中所有的琐事让我首次受到学业上的打击。当我第一次申请加入我现在所在的实验室时,我相信我的成绩将导致我落选。我非常感谢我的项目负责人布克鲍姆博士(Dr. Buchsbaum)和当时的实验室经理凯·奥特苏布(Kay Otsubo),他们并没在意我大一的表现,给了我一次机会。

—— 玛德琳·帕格林(Madeline Pelgrim)

心理学与生物学本科大四生 电邮

 

“攻读博士学位肯定会遇到很多挑战。我想说,我遇到的最大的挑战是我博士生涯早期受到的精神挑战。我如何在语言障碍、实验失败和竞争面前保持自信?我未来的方向是什么?在经历了这些精神斗争后,我对自己的了解更透彻了,也为未知做好了准备。”

我一直想为我们的未来世界带来积极的影响。我喜欢研究中的发现与创新,以及它能为在我们更好的世界中带来的潜在影响。我的研究是设计先进的光响应纳米材料,通过催化温室气体二氧化碳转化为有用的化学物质和燃料,将太阳能转化为化学能。这是一个有希望减少化石燃料使用中产生的、导致全球变暖的温室气体的解决方案。

——董雨辰(音译)

材料化学博士第五年在读 电邮

 

“当我还是个孩子的时候,我总是对大自然和我们周围的世界充满好奇——我会问一些问题,比如为什么天空是蓝色的?云是如何形成的?等等。直到我长大了,我才开始明白‘科学是什么?科学家是什么?科学是如何进行的?’我对其产生了极大的热情。

通过一些化学反应,化学家们可以“有创意地”、理性地调配出一种分子,这种分子被应用于人体后,可以阻止疾病恶化、减轻疼痛,甚至延长寿命——这是我对药物化学产生兴趣的一个强效催化剂。我的工作主要集中在开发新的小分子,这些小分子将用于抑制或治疗已被证实会导致某些癌症的致病细胞成分。

我认为,对于任何一名初入科学领域的学生,无论是研究生学习上、专业课程,还是在职场上,最大的挑战都是要适应并知道如何有效地应对失败和困难。作为一名科学家,有时我们从失败的实验中学到的东西比成功的实验中学到的更多。”

——亚西尔·S·拉乌夫(Yasir S.Raouf),

有机和生物化学博士三年级在读 电邮

 

“我从六岁就开始边参加竞技体育比赛边上学。老实说,如果我不打水球,我不知道晚上还能做什么——我想我只是坐在手机前无所事事。我喜欢在国际舞台上代表加拿大,而且这是个令人振奋的机会。展望未来,能够代表及加拿大参加奥运会将会是我的荣幸。多伦多大学为我开启了许多门,包括研究和体育。

最初我来到多大时,我想做遗传学和细胞与系统生物学的研究——所有那些繁琐的东西。接着,我上了BIO230,我发现这不是我想要的。我试图找到一个领域,一个我可以在不需要接触湿实验室的基础上应用生命科学技术。我有机会在帕斯卡·蒂勒尔实验室(Pascal Tyrrell’s Lab)里做一个研究机会项目(Research Opportunity Program),这个项目主要研究医学影像和统计学,我对这个项目一见钟情。”

——瑞秋·杰斐(Rachael Jaffe),

全球健康、统计与经济大三在读 口述

 

翻译/Translate:陈雨桐/Yutong Chen, 陈恺扬/Carol Chen

校对/Proof: 李雪迪/Xuedi Li

终校/Final Read: 李映雪/Yingxue Li

 

省内政策意在增加STEM毕业生数量

多大正与省政府讨论发展方向

省内政策意在增加STEM毕业生数量

安省政府最近宣布了一个新计划,其目的是在未来五年内增加省内主修科学、技术、工程以及数学(STEM)的毕业生数量。此项目是推动安省成为STEM领域中产业领头羊的一部分。目前,多大正与省政府就新计划带来的影响进行讨论。

这项计划是为了使受过高等教育的STEM毕业生数量“在未来五年内增长二十五个百分点——每年将STEM毕业生数量从40,000提高至50,000,就职于安大略省高等教育与技能发展部的塔尼亚·布雷吉娜(Tanya Blazina)这样说道。

“这个重大承诺将显著地扩大安省内受过良好训练以及接受过高等教育工作者的人才储备,”布雷吉娜说,“这些员工将促使安省本地企业成长为能够参与全球竞争的品牌,与此同时,他们也会吸引成功的、富有创新的企业入驻安省。”

布雷吉娜表示截至2017年秋季,所有由安省政府资助的大学和学院都将签署有关项目计划和资助升学的协议。各大学也会就受资助毕业生人数的问题达成一致。

随着美国科技巨头亚马逊(Amazon)的一个扩张计划,这项新方案应运而生;今年早些时候,亚马逊宣布它正筹划在北美设立第二个总部,多伦多市对此也展现出极大的兴趣。

多大副校长及总务长谢丽尔·雷格(Cheryl Regehr)这样告诉The Varsity,多大“正在找寻更多相关信息并试图弄清这笔款项的确切流向”。雷格称他们预计这笔金额会用于增加受助人数,再具体点可能会用于进修专业硕士课程的学生。

“多大已经很强大了。我们在很多领域都是世界领头羊,在STEM领域,我们也是世界领先者之一,”她补充道,“我们会继续充当一个世界领头羊的角色,除此之外,我们也将提高在STEM领域里科研和教育的积极性。”

为了使安省在各大科技公司眼里更具吸引力,确切地说政府正希望增加研究人工智能(AI)方向的毕业生人数。据报道,为了达到这目标,3,000万加币将被投资用于提高“主修人工智能的应用型硕士毕业生的数量”。

“安大略省也将同矢量协会(Vector Institute)一起携手促进就读人工智能领域应用型硕士毕业生数量的增长。我们的目标是在未来五年内,每年都有1,000名就读人工智能相关领域的应用硕士毕业生。”

矢量协会是一个多伦多本地的、附属于多伦多大学的人工智能研究机构。它在今年刚刚成立,其目的是成为加拿大人工智能中心并吸引来自全球各地的顶尖人才。


翻译/Translate: 钱文聪/Anne Qian

校对/Proof: 王艺璇/Tiffany Wang

What does a scientist look like?

Seven U of T students discuss their passions and paths in science

What does a scientist look like?

W hat does a scientist look like? For many, the answer involves white lab coats, goggles, and beakers. Yet the people who pursue science are just as diverse as the field itself. Scientists can be activists, athletes, artists, or all of the above. Science can happen indoors or outdoors, under the night sky, or on the internet. Read about the journeys of seven student researchers at U of T.

ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

“As a little girl, I saw a shooting star, and that made the night sky my favourite view. I thought a lot about what was up there and how cool it would be to go to space. This led to my studying physics and astronomy in undergrad and I have never looked back since then.

I currently seek to understand the early universe and how it transitioned to the stars and galaxies we see today. Specifically, what happened in the [epoch] of re-ionization. The epoch of re-ionization is a period in the universe’s history over which the matter in the universe ionizes again.

[My dad] taught me always to strive for more, that there could always be a way if there is a will. He taught me to never give up and to always ask questions. My curiosity in life and career comes from him.”

— Margaret Ikape, first-year PhD in Astronomy and Astrophysics, email

ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

 “I have always been interested in science, but also equally interested in the arts. I went to an arts middle school and high school where half my day was spent doing art and not academics. I spend a lot of my time outside of school engaging in the arts. I still consider myself an artist as much as I consider myself a scientist. It took me a while to come to terms with the fact that I can [be] both.

When I decided I wanted to go to university, I chose to study science since I liked it and was good at it. Moving into my later years of my undergrad I found that I was drawn to ecology courses, field courses, and also really liked the people I met in those classes.

I am interested in the pollutants, that comes from roads, such as road salt, and how it impacts the animals that live in nearby streams. I also study other pollutants that come from roads, such as metals, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, and small bits of car tires (tire dust).”

— Rachel Giles, first-year Master’s in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, email

“Initially I had my heart set on being a professional dancer and veterinarian (a very practical dual career). Science had been my academic focus for some time, but it took several years after completing my BSc for me to realize that I passionately loved research and applying the scientific method to various questions of animal behaviour and cognition. I had this epiphany while I was juggling three jobs as a lab manager, veterinary assistant, and dog trainer. Out of all of those, I found research to be fulfilling and exciting and it was something I could see myself doing for the rest of my life.

I want to know how [dogs] perceive the world and how they process cues and information present in the environment. I am motivated by the hope that my research can possibly help change how people view dogs, give greater value to them through the recognition of their mental abilities and ultimately lead to greater wellbeing and better access rights in North America.”

— Julia Espinosa, second-year PhD in Cognitive Psychology, email

Julia Espinosa (left) and Madeline Pelgrim (right) work with dogs like Loki to determine animal behaviour. ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

“Julia Espinosa, the graduate student in my lab, has had the greatest influence on my career. She has been endlessly patient with me since we began working together in the fall of 2016, and has pushed me to advocate for myself and not be afraid to try something new. I would not be at this point in my career without her sage advice and constant confidence.

Like many other students, I had a bit of a rough transition into University in my first year. Adjusting to life away from home (my hometown is a 10 hour drive from Toronto) and everything that comes with living on your own for the first time caused my academics to suffer. When I first applied to join my lab, I was confident that I would not be accepted because of my marks. I am very thankful for my Principal Investigator — Dr. Buchsbaum — and the lab manager at the time — Kay Otsubo — for taking a chance on me and overlooking my performance first-year.”

— Madeline Pelgrim, fourth-year Bachelor’s in Psychology and Biology, email

ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

“There are definitely a lot of challenges throughout a PhD. I would say the biggest one for me were the mental challenges at the early stage of my PhD. How do I keep being confident in front of the language barrier, failure experiments, competitions, and where is my direction for the future? Having been through such a mental struggling stage, I am now clearer of myself, and ready for unknowns.

I always want to help bring positive impacts to our future world. I like the discovery and innovation side of research studies and its potential impact on our better world. My research is to design advanced photo-responsive nanomaterials that can store solar energy into chemical energy by catalyzing the conversion of greenhouse gas carbon dioxide to useful chemicals and fuels. It is a promising solution to reduce the usage of fossil fuels and global warming caused by greenhouse gas.”

— Yuchan Dong, fifth-year PhD in Materials Chemistry, email

ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

“As a child while it was true that I was always curious about nature and the world around us — Asking questions like why is the sky blue? How are clouds formed? etc. It was only when I got older and started to understand ‘what is science? what are scientists? How is science performed?’ that I gained a tremendous passion for it.

This notion that with a few chemical reactions, chemists can ‘creatively’ and rationally generate a molecule which when administered to human can halt disease progression, pain and even extend life — was a very powerful catalyst for my interest in medicinal chemistry. My work mainly focuses on the development of novel small-molecules that specifically target disease-causing cellular components which have been shown to cause certain cancers.

I think as with any budding student of science, whether in graduate studies, professional programs or even out in the workforce, the biggest challenge is to become comfortable with and know how to effectively deal with failure and hardship. As a scientist, at times we learn more from failed experiments than successful ones.”

— Yasir S. Raouf, third-year PhD in Organic and Biological Chemistry, email

ASHIMA KAURA/THE VARSITY

“I’ve been both playing sports competitively and going to school since I was six years old. Honestly, if I didn’t play water polo I don’t know what I would be doing in the evenings — I think I would just be sitting on my phone doing nothing. I love to represent Canada, and it’s a really exciting opportunity to do so on an international stage. Looking forward to the future, it would be an honour to represent Canada at the Olympic Games. U of T has opened so many doors for me, with research and athletics.

Initially I came to U of T and I wanted to do Genetics and Cell & Systems Biology — all that nitty gritty stuff. Then I took BIO230, and I was like this is not for me. I was trying to figure out a field where I could apply Life Science techniques, but without wet lab stuff. I had the opportunity to do an ROP [Research Opportunity Program] in Pascal Tyrrell’s lab — which is focused on medical imaging and statistics — and just fell in love with it.”

— Rachael Jaffe, third-year Bachelor’s in Global Health, Statistics, and Economics, spoken

Ontario’s plan for STEM is vague but encouraging

Re: “Provincial policy aims to increase number of STEM grads“

Ontario’s plan for STEM is vague but encouraging

The choice to invest heavily in locally educated science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) degrees is plainly and unequivocally a good one. As evidenced by the recent investment by Google into the Waterfront and Toronto’s optimistic bid to house Amazon’s Canadian headquarters, it is clear that the tech industry is booming in Ontario. Likewise, it is in the logistical and economic benefit of everyone involved that the accompanying jobs and opportunities be filled with Ontario-educated talent.

However, attempting to become North America’s number one producer of postsecondary STEM graduates per capita is no easy feat. While I am cautiously optimistic, the vague nature of the government’s announcement that it intends to do just that raises questions as to how exactly Ontario will achieve this bold vision. With big talking points like increasing STEM graduates by 25 per cent over the next five years, the only concrete policy on the matter so far appears to be a $30 million investment into creating applied master’s degrees in artificial intelligence. It remains to be seen precisely how the province will promote other areas in the STEM fields.

Regardless, the announcement is a breath of fresh air for scientists in Ontario. With Canada still feeling the effects of the Harper administration’s ‘war on science’ and the concerning anti-intellectual and anti-scientific rhetoric south of the border, Ontario is taking a stand in the name of progress and innovation. Combined with governmental promises to look into the Naylor Report and the potential reversal of American-Canadian ‘brain drain,’ the future is looking bright.

 

Spencer Y. Ki is a second-year student at Victoria College studying Astrophysics and Mathematics.

Provincial policy aims to increase number of STEM grads

University currently in talks with province over way forward

Provincial policy aims to increase number of STEM grads

The Ontario government has recently announced a new initiative to increase the number of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) graduates in the province over the next five years. The project is part of a push to make the province an industry leader in the STEM fields. U of T is currently in talks with the province to see how it will be affected.

The plan is to increase the number of post-secondary STEM graduates “by 25 per cent over the next five years – boosting the number of STEM graduates from 40,000 to 50,000 per year,” according to Tanya Blazina, who works in the Ontario Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development.

“This major commitment will significantly expand the talent pool of well-trained and highly educated workers in Ontario,” Blazina said. “These workers will empower Ontario-based businesses to grow into global players, while also attracting successful and innovative businesses to the province.”

Blazina says that as of Fall 2017, all publicly funded Ontario universities and colleges will have signed an agreement on program plans and funded enrolment levels. Universities will also have signed an agreement concerning funded graduate spaces.

This initiative comes amidst a major expansion project by American tech giant Amazon. The company announced earlier this year that it was planning on building a second headquarters in North America, which Toronto has expressed major interest in.

U of T Vice-President and Provost Cheryl Regehr told The Varsity that the university is “looking for more information and to try and understand what exactly the money will go to.” Regehr says they expect that it will go to additional student spots, in particular a possible student spot in professional master’s programs.

“U of T is already incredibly strong. We are a world leader in many areas and STEM is one of the ones that we’re a world leader,” she said. “We expect that we’ll just continue to be a world leader and increase our research and educational initiatives in this area.”

In order to make the province more attractive to tech companies, the government is hoping specifically to increase graduates is in the field of artificial intelligence (AI). To achieve this, $30 million will be invested to increase the “number of professional applied masters’ graduates in artificial intelligence,” according to a press release.

“Ontario will also partner with the Vector Institute to accelerate growth in the number of professional applied masters’ graduates in artificial intelligence. The goal is to graduate 1,000 applied masters students in AI-related fields per year, within five years.”

Vector Institute is a Toronto-based AI research organization affiliated with U of T. It was founded earlier this year in order to be Canada’s AI hub and to attract top talent from around the world.

Women get WISE at annual conference

U of T WISE 2016 National Conference proves to be a great opportunity for students to connect with professionals

Women get WISE at annual conference

U of T Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) hosted its annual national conference at the Toronto region board of trade last weekend. The conference brought together industry experts and approximately 250 student attendees for on opportunity to participate and connect with professionals.

Jaquelyn Monis, the conference chair of WISE 2016 explained that their objective was not only to provide professional development, but also to connect students with companies hiring for summer internships. 

“This year we have 15 different companies, compare[d] to two or three in the past years” said Monis in reference to industry attendance at the event.

The 2016 WISE Conference featured keynote speaker Jacqueline Shan, founder of Afinity Life Sciences, who spoke during the opening ceremony.

Shan opened by sharing her experience as an international student who struggled with English as a second language, and how she overcame barriers and prosper as an entrepreneur and scientist.

She delivered a powerful speech, promoting persistence and perseverance in her pursuit of success.

“It’s simple, but often hard to do. It’s hard to believe in yourself, believe in your dream when you’re laying off your co-workers,” Shan added. 

In addition to providing networking opportunities for students, the WISE conference also featured a group of panelists, including Cathy Tie, co-founder and CEO of Ranomics.

Cathy was a first-year life sciences student at U of T when she received venture capital funding in 2015 for her project. She spoke to attendees about what she learned from the experience and why it’s so important to have self confidence in order to move forward.

“Even though it’s a chapter of women in science and engineering, one of our messages is to [be] inclusive of everybody and to showcase that it’s possible to get far regardless of gender,” said Monis. 

As a fourth-year student, Monis expressed excitement to hear from the speakers on their diverse experiences.   

On its second day, the WISE conference closed its doors following the announcement of the winners of their poster and case competitions.

The WISE 2016 National Conference Poster Competition, sponsored by General Electric, gave students an opportunity to present their research to judges for the chance to win a $1000 cash prize. Sahil Gupta, graduate student at the U of T’s  Institute of Medical Sciences, was announced as the winner for his research in Heat Shock Protein 90 (HSP90) in relation to sepsis and experimental inflammation. 

Amada Persaud, Eashita Ratwani, Nadia Khan, and Shawna Wei were the winners of the case competition, earning the $1000 prize and an interview opportunity for a position at Tata Consultancy Services, another of the competition’s corporate sponsors.

Throughout the school year, WISE at U of T is also involved in other initiatives such as providing opportunites for professional development, mentorships, high school, as well as community outreach. With initiatives like its annual conference, WISE continues to try to improve the state of women in science and engineering.