Unite UTM won an overwhelming victory in the University of Toronto Mississauga Students’ Union (UTMSU) elections, securing all five executive positions, unofficial results indicate. There were a total of four slates in this year’s elections, and a handful of independent candidates.

Current vice president, university affairs Nour Alideeb is the president-elect and won with 1,717 votes. Ridwan Olow, presidential candidate with UTM Focus, received the second-most votes in the election with 479 votes – roughly a third of those received by Alideeb.

The results for the other executive positions revealed a similar distribution of votes.

Jackie Zhao will fulfil the role of vice president, internal & services and was elected with 1,811 votes. He will be joined by Vanessa Demello, who won her position with 1808 votes.

Marise Hopkins is the vice president, external-elect and received 1,612 votes, and Maleeha Baig will be vice president, equity. Baig won with 1,732 votes.

For each executive election, there were between 51 and 60 spoiled ballots and between 60 and 98 abstentions.

The new executive will take office on May 1, 2016, after the results of the election are ratified.

This story is developing, more to follow.